FUNDAMENTAL

Javier Müller
Infolio Éditions
Parution – 2021
Nombre de pages – 180
Reliure – Relié
Dimension – 21×21
ISBN – 9782889680030

Fondamental;

du latin fundus (base, bas) – mentum (instrument, résultat) signifie
“qui sert de base, qui constitue la partie principale de quelque chose”.

Fundamental illustre les principes, les bases, les instruments qui montrent mon approche à chacun de mes projets et qui fondent l’origine de mon architecture.Une collection d’images , textes, poèmes et citations organisée autour de thématiques qui sont récurrentes dans mon processus de création: contexte, lumière, géométrie et composition. “Mon approche à l’architecture est en fort lien avec les arts plastiques, je crois en l’architecture comme une oeuvre d’art habitée. L’introduction d’éléments de géométrie marquée articulent et définissent l’espace en le traitant comme un seul fluide dans lequel ils sont protagonistes. Mon travail s’intéresse à la dissolution des limites entre l’architecture et les autres disciplines artistiques. Un plan peut ainsi être un tableau ou l’extrusion d’un tableau peut être comprise comme un bâtiment.”»

 

NOTE DE L’AUTEUR:

Dans un monde fortement marqué par l’image, je propose une architecture qui veut passer inaperçue, agissant d’une façon discrète pour mettre en valeur son contexte. Les moyens dont j’approche l’architecture sont élémentaires : géométrie, proportions spatiales, distribution de la lumière, précision des détails, des matériaux et des textures. Je travaille l’abstraction, en réduisant l’espace à une expression minimale où tout signe arbitraire a été supprimé.

Je cherche la simplicité à travers une économie de moyens et une compréhension très directe de l’idée derrière un projet. J’entends l’architecture comme une composition et une interaction d’éléments qui constituent une unité en équilibre parfait. Une unité qui a été sculptée et non composée de différentes parties, ce qui parle de mon approche à l’architecture comme sculpture. Nous trouvons alors l’harmonie, lorsque l’être humain est capable de reconnaître ces outils de composition comme une unité s’appropriant l’espace. Je cherche la beauté à travers d’ambiances intemporelles ancrées et indissociables de la réalité du lieu, car l’architecture ne parle pas de modes et doit perdurer.

 

Fundamental Infolio Éditions 2021 – www.infolio.ch

Fundamental;

from the Latin fundus (base, background) – mentum (instrument, result) means

“that serves as a base, which forms the main part of something”.

Fundamental illustrates through images the principles, the basis, the instruments that show my approach to each of my projects and that settle the origin of my architecture. A collection of images, texts, poems and quotes organized into a series of recurring themes in my work: context, light, geometry and composition. ““My approach to architecture is in a strong dialogue with the visual arts. I believe architecture is an inhabited sculpture. I consider space as a singular fluid in which geometrical elements are introduced and exist as the protagonist. My work seeks to dissolve the limits between architecture and other artistic disciplines. Therefore, a floor plan can be a painting or the extrusion of a painting can be understood as a building.”

For its first edition, Fundamental was conceived as an architectural and sculptural object at the same time, as a foundation stone to my work. Fundamental is a Flatbook without any seam or binding, a continuous print on laminated pages that gives an abstract, conceptual and refined side to the object. A perfect square format based on our logo simplified to a grid, distributes images, texts and any other graphic documents.

AUTHOR’S NOTE

In a world strongly marked by the image, I propose an architecture that tends to be unremarked, acting discreetly to value its context. The means with which I approach architecture are elemental : geometry, spatial proportions, the distribution of light, precision in details, materials and textures. I work on abstraction, reducing space to a minimal expression where any arbitrary sign has been removed.

I seek simplicity through an economy of means and understanding the elements and the idea behind a project in a very direct way. This is what my architecture is all about, composition understood as an interaction of elements that constitute a unit in perfect balance. A unit that has been sculpted and not made up of different parts, which speaks of my approach to architecture as a sculpture . We achieve harmony, when the human being is able to recognize the elements of composition as a unit, making the space his own. I seek beauty through timeless atmospheres that are ingrained and inseparable from its context, because architecture doesn’t speak about fashion and is meant to last over time.

Graphic Design © the Workshop